Aerodynamic Formulas questions

ThibaultHUGUET

Hi,

I'm a student in mechanical engineering and rFactor player.

I actually try to develop some tools for improve my car setup. For this, I try to do aeromaps based on HDV file.

I try some tools like CarFactory but I found too much difference between it and my measure on track for some parameters that I decided to do my own tool.

To check my calculation, I did some straight line test with data acquisition. I do constant speed test and measure wheel load and remove static load to have only aeroloads.
Also, I removed rolling resistance because this cause some load transfer too.

After I do a model of my car without aero (put 0 on almost all aero lines in HDV) and enter parameters one by one and elements by elements to understand well the parameters influence.

For many parameters, I'm in the ballpark but I have some doubt for others...

For example, I have difference for FWliftHeight effect. I use the parameter like this :

FWLift(polynomial equation) + FWliftHeight * FWCenterHeight from ground

I recalculate the height of the FW center in function of its position from the front axle and front and rear ride height.

This calculation give me less DF than Rfactor in all the case. Actually the same than Carfactory....
(I precise that all other calculation are ok and for checking this parameters, only put -1 in the first terms of FWLiftBase and FWCenter is (0,0,0).)

I haven't found other formulas on internet and can't manage to find one that work for this.

Someone already had this problem or studied this formula ?

Thanks in advance to this awesome community.

Hi,

welcome!

As far as i know, the parameter you mentioned normally take into account front wing ride height,as you mentioned.

This depends on FW initial location (FWCenter), ride heights, pitch and distance between FW and wheel center (lever arm).

If i take into account all these parameters, i normally get right results.