rfactor Black Screen Freeze

Crasharama

Hello,

I have been racing on rFactor for a few years now and have recently (only started doing this a few weeks ago) been experiencing a black screen freeze (for around 5-10 seconds) whenever i do an on line race at night (offline a night race works 100% fine). I have no missmatch, have tried a fresh install of rFactor with no plugins (only the realfeel plugin and the mod/track i needed to race with). It does it on 3 mods (only been able to try it on these 3). The black screen itself tries to throw me to the desktop and alt tabbing only allows me to try tab to the game (can only see my mouse on the task bar and nowhere else).

My Rig is:
CPU: Intel i5 4690K
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 GAMING 4GB GDDR5
Motherbaord: Sabertooth TUF Intel® Z87
RAM: 8GB
Windoes 7 64bit
It is fan cooled but my GPU only reaches around 60 degrees max.

Asking others around me when the freezing happens i disappear until the freeze/black screen has stopped and i am able to re-tab to the game and i will suddenly appear in front of someone else and would not of moved. All my game sounds freeze and i just hear the continuous sound of a frozen engine. My FPS does not drop before the freezing occurs and there is no warning as to when it will do it (i can go round 10 seconds then have a freeze, unfreeze for around 5 secs then freeze again, or can do half the race and have only one freeze at the mid point of the race). During the day my game runs fine with no freezing at all. I did however turn off my replays as i was experiencing some micro-stuttering when the replays where turned on.

Thanks for the help
Ben

Hello,

I have been racing on rFactor for a few years now and have recently (only started doing this a few weeks ago) been experiencing a black screen freeze .....

Does that mean that it was OK before "a few weeks ago"?

In this case i would suggest to try an older Video-Driver first.
Or hasn't the Driver been updated since then?