Track Resolution Questions

KennySabarese

Newbie here, I've been searching and unable to find an answer to my question.

I have been reading threads on optimizing my settings to get the right balance between FSP and quality. I am testing on two displays, a 50" plasma up to 1920x1080 and a 20" 4:3 Dell Monitor up to 1600x1200.

I believe that I've found that some tracks surroundings don't get any better looking as I turn up the resolution (regardless of FPS my machine can make). Is my observation correct?

If so, is there a way to tell what resolution/quality level tracks are? I've seen some tracks say they are high resolution, I haven't noticed a difinitive way to tell.

Your observations are correct, there is a kind of standard set to track texturing, when you make a texture you think of it like this. If your screen is 1280x1024 and when you look at the track, it only takes up 1/4 of the screen, then the track texture width only needs to be 512 wide. When you make textures too big you get shimmering and such. I spose you could put it down to the fact that not all track makers have large screens.

But that's not the end of it, all it takes to improve that quality is to make new textures, there are quite a few people who do this from time to time, one of the most popular re-texturers is SLN, http://updates.slnart.com/
You can also re-texture it yourself if you have it in you. A new texture will not cause miss matches so the door is wide open to go for it.

Your observations are correct, there is a kind of standard set to track texturing, when you make a texture you think of it like this. If your screen is 1280x1024 and when you look at the track, it only takes up 1/4 of the screen, then the track texture width only needs to be 512 wide.

I don't 100% understand what you mean by this.

When you make textures too big you get shimmering and such. I spose you could put it down to the fact that not all track makers have large screens.